Skip to main content

Nicolette Williams interview index, 2018

Identifier: dcpl_dcohc013

Scope and Contents

This oral history interview was conducted with Nicolette Williams by Kristin Adair in Washington, D.C. Nicolette Williams was born in Washington, D.C. She talks about being raised by her aunt in Southeast D.C., because both of her parents were on drugs when she was a child. She describes returning to live with her mother at the age of 13, at which point she started getting involved in street life. She was in and out of the 14 years to life for murder. She served 16 years in prison and returned home to D.C. four years ago, in 2014. After she was released from prison, she became the victim of a violent crime herself in 2017. She is a member of the non-profit organization the WIRE (Women Involved in Reentry Efforts).


  • Creation: 2018


Language of Materials


Biographical / Historical

Nicolette Williams was born and raised in Washington, D.C. She served 16 years of a 14 to life sentence for murder. Her oral history is wide ranging, including discussions of life in Southeast in the 1980s and 1990s, LGBT life in 1990s D.C., and racial tensions in prison. In prison she learned about different religions and attended a number of support groups. After her release she became a member of the non-profit organization Women Involved in Reentry Efforts (WIRE).


From the Collection: 1.13 Terabytes

Repository Details

Part of the The People's Archive, Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Library Repository

901 G Street NW
4th Floor East
Washington DC 20001