Skip to main content

Julius Watson index, 2016-04-06


Scope and Contents

In this oral history interview, Julius Watson, a long time D.C. resident, discusses his experiences moving from South Carolina to Washington, D.C. He talks about cultural differences he sees between the South and D.C., his marriage, and his relationships with his children and grandchildren. He also discusses his upbringing in South Carolina, his love of sports, race relations in the South, time spent living in Connecticut and St. Thomas, and his love of music. He also reflects on the decision to leave South Carolina as well as the lessons he has learned after living in the city for over 45 years.


  • Creation: 2016-04-06


Language of Materials


Biographical / Historical

Born and raised in South Carolina, Julius Watson was the oldest of his parents’ children and grew up in a small, two-bedroom house with his sister, mother, grandmother, two aunts, and three cousins. Being in the Navy, his father was not around during his upbringing. Mr. Watson was a good athlete as a young man and played football in high school. After being arrested and jailed for three days for a crime he didn't commit, Mr. Watson moved to Washington, D.C., in 1968 to live with his grandmother for a short time. He then moved to Connecticut to live with his father who was working at Wesleyan University. While living with his father Mr. Watson received a scholarship to play football at Wesleyan. They then moved to St. Thomas before Mr. Watson returned to Washington, D.C. He went on to get married and have three children with his wife before the two got a divorced. Today he is a grandfather and likes to take his grandkids out fishing, among other excursions.


From the Collection: 27.1 Gigabytes (DIG_0029)

From the Collection: 228 Files (DIG_0029)

Repository Details

Part of the The People's Archive, Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Library Repository

901 G Street NW
4th Floor East
Washington DC 20001